Chakras are energy points along the central meridian of the body.

Chakra is an old Sanskrit term meaning 'wheel' or 'circle' and is generally used to reference specific energy centers along the body's meridian. Generally there are seven chakra points.In sanatan/Hindu and tantric/yogic traditions and other belief systems chakras are energy points or knots in the subtle body. Chakras are part of the subtle body, not the physical body, and as such are the meeting points of the subtle (non-physical) energy channels, called nadiis. Nadiis are channels in the subtle body through which the life force (prana), or vital energy moves. Various scriptural texts and teachings present a different number of chakras.

Their name derives from the Sanskrit word for "wheel" or "turning", but in the yogic context a better translation of the word is 'vortex or whirlpool'.

Root Chakra

Root Chakra - Represents our foundation and feeling of being grounded.
Location : Base of spine in tailbone area.
Emotional issues : Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food.

Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra - Our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.
Location : Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel and 2 inches in.
Emotional issues : Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra - Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.
Location : Upper abdomen in the stomach area.
Emotional issues : Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem.

Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra - Our ability to love.
Location : Center of chest just above heart.
Emotional issues : Love, joy, inner peace.

Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra - Our Ability to Communicate.
Location : Throat.
Emotional issues : Communication, self-expression of feelings, the truth.

Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra - Our ability to focus on and see the big picture.
Location : Forehead between the eyes. (Also called the Brow Chakra)
Emotional issues : Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions.

Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra - The highest Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.
Location : The very top of the head.
Emotional issues : Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss.